About Us

The Historic District was created to protect, enhance, and perpetuate the heritage and integrity of the property within the boundaries of the oldest residential section of the City of Temple. The League strives to stabilize and improve property values while fostering civic pride in the beauty and accomplishments of the past.

The Historic Preservation League of Temple has an elected board of directors, collects dues from members, and has an annual membership meeting.


President Dr. S. Alyce Bartley
Vice President Jean Coley
Secretary Mark Mayfield
Assistant Secretary Kay Mayfield
Treasurer Dow Fogleman
Membership Mickey Bartley
Assistant Membership Dr. George Luck
Publicity/Communication Chair Michelle Clemens
History/Education Chair  Susan Luck
Health, Safety, Beautification Chair Will Sisco